Second Floor
  • M-F: 8am - 5pm
First Floor
  • M-F: 9am - 4pm
  • Sat: 10am - 4pm
  • Sun: 1pm - 5pm
Third Floor
  • M-Tu: 9am - 8:30 pm
  • W-F: 9am - 5:30 pm
  • Sat: 9am - 5pm
  • Sun: 1pm - 5pm
  • Closed Jan. 15
  • Closed Feb. 19
Second Floor
  • M-F: 8am-4:30pm
  • Closed Jan. 15
  • Closed Feb. 19

A Historic Evening with Doris Kearns Goodwin

The National Impact of President Abraham Lincoln
April 25, 2017
Bijou Theatre


East Tennessee Historical Society


Lincoln Memorial University Duncan School of Law

with presenting sponsor
Pilot Flying J


invite you to attend

803 S. Gay Street, Knoxville, TN 37902

Ticket prices: $35 ETHS members, $40 general public, $25 student

Tickets may be purchased through the Bijou Theatre box office :: 865-684-1200, option 2


About Doris Kearns Goodwin

Doris Kearns Goodwin is world-renowned as a presidential historian, public speaker and Pulitzer Prize-winning author. Ms. Goodwin is the author of six critically acclaimed and The New York Times bestselling books, including The Fitzgeralds and the Kennedys: An American Saga; Wait Till Next Year; The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism; No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt: The Home Front in World War II; Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln; and Lyndon Johnson and the American Dream.

Her epic tome, Team of Rivals, illustrates Lincoln’s political genius, as the one-term congressman and prairie lawyer rises from obscurity to prevail over three gifted rivals of national reputation to become president. It was the winner of the Lincoln Prize and the inaugural Book Prize for American History. It was also the basis for the Academy Award-winning film, Lincoln, produced and directed by Steven Spielberg.

Ms. Goodwin and her husband Richard N. Goodwin, the writer, presidential advisor, speechwriter and playwright, reside in Concord, Massachusetts. Ms. Goodwin was the first woman to enter the Boston Red Sox locker room and is a devoted fan of the World Series-winning team.


Presenting Sponsor: