Second Floor
  • M-F: 8am - 5pm
First Floor
  • M-F: 9am - 4pm
  • Sat: 10am - 4pm
  • Sun: 1pm - 5pm
  • Closed April 12
Third Floor
  • M-Tu: 9am - 8:30 pm
  • W-F: 9am - 5:30 pm
  • Sat: 9am - 5pm
  • Sun: 1pm - 5pm
  • Closed April 10
  • Closed April 12
Second Floor
  • M-F: 8am-4:30pm
  • Closed April 10

Awards of Excellence Program

The East Tennessee Historical Society’s Awards of Excellence program annually recognizes individuals and organizations for significant contributions to the preservation, promotion, and interpretation of the region’s history.  Eligible projects include exhibits, lectures, conferences, publications, print and broadcast media, teaching, and lifetime achievement.  Organizations and individuals across the region are invited to make nominations.

Established in 1982, ETHS Awards of Excellence nominations begin in January of each year.  The awards are presented at the ETHS Annual Meeting held in May.

Community History Award (individual or organization) - in recognition of excellence in community leadership, specifically in promoting the preservation of local/regional history and heritage

Award of Distinction (individual or organization) - in recognition of a special project (such as a book or other publication, building preservation, exhibit) or special programming (conference, heritage event, lecture series, other)

History in the Media Award - presented to someone in the field of broadcast, print media, or Internet for outstanding contributions to the promotion of our region’s history.

Teaching Excellence Award - in recognition of outstanding or innovative teaching of history at any level, grades one through adult education.

Ramsey Award for Lifetime Achievement - is the Society’s most prestigious award and is reserved for one, who, over the course of a lifetime, has made outstanding contributions to the understanding and preservation of East Tennessee history.  It is named for ETHS founder and early historian, Dr. J.G.M. Ramsey, author of The Annals of East Tennessee to the End of the Eighteenth Century.

Nomination Guidelines

  1. Complete and return the nomination form by designated date (March 20, 2020).
  2. On a separate piece of paper, give a brief written description (500 words or less), explaining why the individual or organization should be recognized (attendance, community partner, etc.).
  3. With all nominations please include these additional materials:
         -  Copies of press releases, publicity, brochures, and photos
         -  Other pertinent materials pertaining to the project or person
         -  Two letters of support describing the response or impact of the project or person on
             local or regional history
  4. Projects completed within the past two years are eligible for nomination.
  5. Please provide an email and mailing address, as well as a phone number, for both the recipient and for the person who nominates the project.
  6. If a publication is nominated, please send a copy of that book.
  7. Organizations should feel free to nominate their own projects.

For more information contact the East Tennessee Historical Society at 865-215-8824.

Previous Awards Programs

  • "Telling the Story of Tennessee: New Places, Big Stories" with Dr. Carroll Van West
    May 3, 2016 - 5:30pm to 8:00pm

    Few places are as blessed as Tennessee with the diverse beauty of its land and the richness of its history. From the Appalachian birthplace of country music to the soulful sounds of Memphis and the fruitful river valleys of Middle Tennessee to the rugged pathways of the Cumberland Plateau, Tennessee mirrors the southern experience of...

  • The Foundry on World's Fair Park
    June 4, 2015 - 5:30pm

    You are invited to join us for the ETHS Annual Meeting on Thursday, June 4, at The Foundry on World's Fair Park.  The meeting is a time for members and friends to come together and greet old friends, make new ones, and to celebrate the region’s history.  Both members and the general public are welcome.  The evening begins with a social hour,...